You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

N Biren sworn in as CM of first BJP-led govt in Manipur

Press Trust of India  |  Imphal 

N Biren Singh was today sworn in as the Chief Minister of the first-ever BJP-led in after the Assembly threw up a hung house.

Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Singh at a function in here.

Eight other ministers from the and its alliance partners also took oath along with the chief minister. Y Joykumar of NPP has been designated as the Deputy Chief Minister.

The other ministers are Th Biswajit Singh of BJP, L Jayantakumar Singh, L Haokip and N Kayisii of National People's Party, L Dikho of Naga People's Front and Karam Shyam of LJP.

TH Shyamkumar, a who defected to the BJP, was also sworn in.

general secretary Ram Madhav and minister Himanta Biswa Sarma were present at the swearing-in ceremony among others.

Outgoing Chief Minister Ibobi Singh was also present.

President and Union minister M Venkaiah Naidu, who were scheduled to attend the function, could not arrive here as the aircraft they were travelling in suffered an engine problem mid-air prompting the pilot to return to Delhi.

Heptulla had yesterday invited Biren Singh, who was unanimously elected the leader of the 21-member Legislature Party, to form the

The has claimed the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 15 2017. 16:02 IST