You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Newly elected AIADMK MLAs sworn-in as Legislators

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

The newly elected MLAs, who won the elections to the Thanjavur and Aravakurichi Assembly seats besides the Tiruparankundram bypoll held on November 19,were sworn-in as legislators today.

M Rengasamy (Thanjavur), V Senthil Balaji (Aravakurichi) and AK Bose (Tiruparankundram) were sworn-in as members of the 15th Legislative Assembly of by Speaker P Dhanapal in the presence of senior Ministers including O Panneerselvam.

Elections to Thanjavur and Aravakurichi, originally scheduled along with the rest of the 232 Assembly constituencies on May 16, were rescinded by Commission following allegations of large-scale money distribution.

Bypoll to Thirupparankundram was necessitated following the death of sitting SM Seenivel.

The members had defeated their nearest candidates by margins ranging between 20,000 to 42,000 votes.

The AIADMK's strength in the 234-member house now stands at 136, including the Speaker.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, November 29 2016. 18:13 IST