You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

No confidence motion against Sri Lanka's Northern province CM

Press Trust of India  |  Colombo 

A no confidence motion against Sri Lanka's Northern Province Chief Minister C V Wigneswaran was handed over to Governor Reginald Cooray with the signatures of provincial council members, the Governor's office said today.

Some 22 out of 38 council members had signed the motion after friction resulted by Wigneswaran's move to sack some ministers of his administration.

Two of the sacked ministers - Agriculture Minister P Aingaranesan and Education Minister T Kurukularaja - were subject to a corruption probe.

A committee appointed by the chief minister last year submitted its report last week. It found evidence on the charges made against the two ministers.

Wigneswaran, a former top judge, had asked the two ministers in the four-member cabinet to resign so that allegations against them can be investigated.

He and his Tamil National Alliance (TNA) have been at loggerheads since early 2015. The TNA's moderate faction has been backing the government's reconciliation programme.

However, Wigneswaran has expressed dissatisfaction with the government's delivery of reconciliation pledges.

Cooray's office said he may send a letter to Wigneswaran asking him to prove his majority in the house.

Sources said that the motion also seeks appointment of CVK Sivagnanam, the current council Chairman, as the new chief minister.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, June 15 2017. 15:02 IST