You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Polling closes in Himachal Pradesh after high-voltage campaign

Press Trust of India  |  Shimla 

Voting closed today in the hill state of Himachal Pradesh, where the is seeking to dislodge the Virbhadra Singh-led on the issue of corruption while deflecting attacks by rivals on and Sixty sitting MLAs were among the 337 candidates fighting for a seat in the 68-member legislative assembly of Himachal Pradesh, one of few states under rule. The along with those of the BJP-ruled will be a bellwether of Prime Minister Modi's popularity. As many as 7,525 polling booths were set up and 37,605 personnel deputed for poll duty in the state, which has a total of 50,25,941 voters. Voting for the Assembly, which started at 8am, came to an end at 5pm, but continued in some booths were people were still waiting to cast their votes. A total of 17,850 personnel of police and Home Guards and 65 companies of central paramilitary force had also been deployed. To ensure free and fair polls, other officials, including 29 general, three police and 22 expenditure observers as well as 1,561 micro observers were believed to have been deployed across the state. Chief Minister and leader Virbhadra Singh, 10 ministers, eight chief parliamentary secretaries, Deputy Speaker Jagat Singh Negi, former chief minister and leader Prem Kumar Dhumal and over a dozen former ministers are among those who have thrown their hat in the ring. The ruling and the BJP, led by Dhumal, contested all 68 seats. The BSP fought for 42 seats, the CPI(M) 14, Swabhiman Party and Lok Gathbandhan Party six each and the CPI three. There are also 112 independents in the fray. Dharamsala has the maximum number of candidates at 12. Both and Dhumal have moved out of their old constituencies.

While the leader contested from Arki, the leader chose Sujanpur. The 12-day high-voltage campaign, which ended on Tuesday, saw over 450 rallies by star campaigners of the and the Prime Minister Modi addressed seven rallies and president Amit Shah, six. vice president Rahul Gandhi addressed three rallies. Corruption was the main focus of the campaign with the party training its guns on the chief minister while the hit out at the over and Chief Parliamentary Secretary Mansa Ram, who was elected for the first time in 1967 from Karsog (SC), fought for the eleventh time. The election saw 19 women -- six from the and three from the Seven rebels each from the two parties also contested the polls. At present, the has 35 and the 28 MLAs in the House. There are four independents while one seat is vacant. Web-casting was used in 2,307 polling stations for live monitoring of polling activities. Officials said 7,525 electronic voting machines (EVMs) and VVPAT paper trail machines were used. The Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail machines were used for the first time in this election. An estimated 10 per cent of the total number of EVMs and VVPATs had been kept in reserve.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 09 2017. 19:07 IST