You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Presidential election: Parrikar casts vote in Goa

Press Trust of India  |  Panaji 

Voting for the presidential began at the secretariat at Porvorim today morning with chief minister among those to cast vote in the first one hour.

Forward Party's Jayesh Salgaoncar and Vinod Palyekar, Congress' Philip Neri Rodrigues, Ravi Naik, and Tony Fernandes, and BJP's Pramod Sawant and Pravin Zantye were among the early voters.

Assembly has 40 members. However, 38 MLAs are eligible to vote in today's as (Congress) and Siddharth Kuncolienkar (BJP) have resigned.

Parrikar, yet to be elected to the Assembly after he resigned as the Defence Minister and returned to the state, cast vote in his capacity as member from

Three MPs from the state - Shantaram Naik (Rajya Sabha), Shripad Naik (Lok Sabha) and Sawaikar (Lok Sabha) will cast their votes in

GFP, a ally, is supporting the candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

GFP leader and state minister Vinod Palyekar said his party had taken the right decision to support Kovind. "We are part of the There is no question of voting for anyone else," he said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 13:28 IST