You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Presidential poll: Bhujbal, Fadnavis cast vote

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Jailed MLAs Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam were among the MLAs who cast their votes in the presidential

The voting for the presidential started at the in south at 10 am and ended at 5 pm, a official said.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and former deputy chief minister were among the early voters.

Bhujbal reached the in an ambulance.

Of the 288 eligible voters, 287 cast their votes, the official said. Bajuhan Vikas Aghadi Kshitij Thakur did not cast his vote as he was away, the official said.

The two jailed MLAs were able to cast their votes in the presidential on permissions from various courts.

A special recently granted Bhujbal permission to vote in the

The had on Friday allowed Ramesh Kadam, arrested for his alleged involvement in a corruption case, to vote in the

Kadam was arrested in August 2015 in a case of alleged siphoning off of over Rs 141 crore from the state-run Annabhau Sathe Development Corporation.

NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind was in on Saturday to seek support of MLAs and MPs.

The opposition's candidate, Meira Kumar, had visited last month to launch her campaign for the top constitutional post.

The eligible voters from also included 48 Lok Sabha MPs and 19 Rajya Sabha members from the state, who cast their votes in Delhi, where the Parliament session began today.

The only exception was MP Sanjay Kakade. The Rajya Sabha member voted at the here.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 19:02 IST