You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Presidential poll over in TN

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Voting for the presidential in was over in just about two hours today with 232 legislators, Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan, and a casting their votes at the Assembly secretariat conference hall here.

Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu, Rajesh Lakhoni said the ballot box would be sealed at 5 PM and taken to by a 9.10 PM flight.

Assistant Returning Officer (Secretary in charge of TN Assembly), K Boopathy will be taking the ballot box to along with Joint Secretary Subramanian, he told reporters.

Leader of the Opposition and Working President told reporters after casting his vote that his party chief would not be coming to vote in view of his health and doctor's advice.

"All our party MLAs (88 MLAs except Karunanidhi) have voted," he told reporters after voting.

While Chief Minister K Palaniswami was the first to cast his vote at 10 am, (Puratchi Thalaivi Amma) legislator and former Minister S Semmalai was the last to exercise his franchise by 11.56 am.

After Palaniswami, his cabinet colleagues including Forest Minister Dindigul C Srinivasan, and School Education Minister KA Sengottaiyan, rebel leader O Panneerselvam, his loyalist and former Minister K Pandiarajan cast their votes.

Following them, Stalin, Congress Legislature Party Leader K R Ramsamy, IUML KM Mohammed Abubacker and all others voted.

Out of the 234 MLAs in TN Assembly, RK Nagar seat is vacant and is not scheduled to vote and the rest of 232 legislators voted.

Besides them, Pon Radhakrishnan, representing Kanyakumari Lok Sabha constituency and Parikkal Abdullah from voted here taking the total number of voters here to 234.

Radhakrishnan, authorised representative (agent) of NDA candidate Ramnath Kovind, was present through the voting process.

Besides Radhakrishnan, Semmalai and Assembly Deputy Speaker Pollachi V Jayaraman were also the authorised representatives of Kovind.

For opposition candidate Meira Kumar, Congress S Vijayadharani and Whip R Sakkarapani were the authorised representatives.

The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee, the 13th president of India, ends on July 24.

Earlier, at about 8.30 am the ballot box was inspected by authorities at the strong room in the Assembly complex and brought to the polling station (conference hall) by 9.10 am. Polling began at 10 am.

The polling station was sanitised by police and officials yesterday, according to Lakhoni.

At the polling station, officials including Chief Electoral Officer, Observer, Assistant Returning officer cum presiding officer Boopahty were present.

As soon as voters (MLAs and MP) arrived, their national serial number as prepared by the was announced in the hall and after scrutiny, MLAs were given pink colour slips, while a green colour slip was given for the MP to vote.

Meanwhile, at the neighbouring Puducherry all 30 elected legislators who are members of the Electoral College exercised their franchise.

Speaker V Vaithilingam was first to vote, followed by Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, his cabinet colleagues and other legislators belonging to the ruling Congress and its alliance partner the which has two members on its side.

Although the opposition AINRC has eight legislators in the House, one of its members P R N Tirumurugan representing Karaikal, however, turned up at the booth separately and after casting his vote he left the venue without talking to media.

Tirumurugan virtually drew the attention of all those present at the venue.

The remaining seven AINRC legislators including the Leader of the Opposition and former Chief Minister N Rangasamy also cast their votes.

All the four legislators also exercised their franchise in the forenoon. The polling ended at 12.45 PM.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 15:22 IST