You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Prez election: Assembly poll wins likely to help BJP nominee

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The BJP's electoral victory in the recent assembly polls is set to help its nominee get elected as the next president of

The has initiated moves to reach out to the Opposition parties on selecting a consensus candidate for the upcoming presidential poll.

But the party's victories in and have ensured that its share in the electoral college, which would elect the next president, goes up significantly.

The term of President is coming to an end on July 24 and the nomination process for the July 17 poll began today.

The electoral college which elects the president through the system of proportional representation comprises elected MPs and members of state legislative assemblies -- a total of 4,896 voters including 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs.

While 233 are elected members of the Rajya Sabha, 543 are from the

While the Speaker, an elected member, can vote, two nominated members from the Anglo-Indian community in the and 12 nominated MPs in the cannot. The value of an MLA's vote depends on the size of the state he or she represents. But the value of the vote of an MP is the same and does not vary.

The total value of the electoral college is 10,98,882. Before the assembly polls, the NDA was short of 75,076 votes in terms of value. But after BJP's astounding performance in Uttar Pradesh, and Manipur, the gap will narrow down to 20,000 votes, an official in the Commission explained.

If it is able to get the support of parties like AIADMK with 134 MLAs and BJD with 117 MLAs, it can see the person of its choice in the Rashtrapati Bhawan easily.

In the 243-member Rajya Sabha, the as of now has 56 members, while the Congress with 59 is the single largest party.

With wins in assembly polls, the is set to emerge as the single largest party in the too next year and the NDA's tally would be close to 100. It would, however, still be short of a majority in the upper house.

Mayawati's BSP, which finished a poor third in with a tally of just 19 seats, will not be in a position to send her to the again when her current term ends next year.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, June 14 2017. 18:07 IST