You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Prez poll: Voting in Raj assembly ends

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

Voting to elect the next President of concluded in the Assembly today, with 199 legislators out of 200 exercising their franchise.

Former Chief Minister cast his vote in Gujarat.

Polling for presidential elections commenced at 10 am and concluded at 2.15 pm with all 199 legislators exercising their franchise, an assembly spokesperson said.

The Assembly has 200 MLAs. has 161 MLAs, 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.

The has fielded former Governor Ram Nath Kovind for the top constitutional post, while former Speaker is the candidate of the joint opposition.

Counting of votes will take place on July 20 in where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals.

The tenure of incumbent ends on July 24.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 15:48 IST