You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Punjab polls: CPI(M) releases list of 12 candidates

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The CPI(M) today released a list of 12 candidates for elections, which it is contesting jointly with other Left parties like and Revolutionary Marxist Party of (RMPI).

The Assembly polls in will be held in single phase on February 4.

The party has fielded Kirti, Sukhdev Singh Gokhalwar, Bachittar Singh Taggar, Gurdial Dass Bains, Atwal and Rori from Batala, Tarn Taran, Shahkot, Adampur, Garhshankar and Balachaur (SBS Nagar) assembly constituencies respectively, it said in a statement.

Mohinder Singh Sangatpur, Mota Singh, Baljeet Singh Gorsian, Jarnail Singh Janal and Ramesh Singh Azad will contest from Anandpur Sahib, Raikot, Jagraon, Sunam and Sanaur constituencies respectively.

Hitesh Pathak, party's adopted independent candidate, will enter the fray from Nawanshahar (SBS Nagar) segment.

The Left parties will contest in 52 of the total 117 assembly segments.

Of these, the will contest in 25, while the RMPI on the remaining seats.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, January 14 2017. 17:13 IST