You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Revised electoral rolls for SMC polls released

Press Trust of India  |  Shimla 

A revised voters' list of the Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC) was released today after widespread protests against alleged glaring discrepancies in the electoral rolls.

Deputy Commissioner, Shimla, Rohan Chand Thakur, released the revised voters' lists with significant changes.

"The number of voters in Malyana ward have been increased from 171 to 481, while Bhattakuffar (855) and upper Dhalli (880) are the only wards with less than 1,000 voters," he said.

Thakur, who is also the Returning Officer for the polls, said in Krishnanagar ward, the number of voters have been reduced to 3,803 from the previous 4,105, while the wards with more than 3,000 voters include Khalini (3,520), Rulduibhatta (3,393), Vikasnagar (3,143) and Annandale (3,137).

"In Summerhill ward, number of women voters is 769 against 677 male voters," he said.

The number of voters has now increased from 63,406 to 75,843 in the SMC polls, the official said.

However, political parties are not satisfied with the revised poll lists and have complained that names of thousands of voters were still missing.

The voters have been asked to file objections and claims by April 21 for further revision. The final voters' lists will be published on May 4.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 18 2017. 23:57 IST