You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Stage set for Malappuram bypoll; LDF announces candidate

Press Trust of India  |  Malappuram (Ker) 

The ruling CPI(M)-led in today announced DYFI leader M B Faizal as its candidate for the byelection to the Malappuram seat, setting the stage for a triangular contest.

Party state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan announced the candidate for the April 12 bypoll after the district committee meeting here.

Faizal is the state committee member of CPI(M)'s youth wing, Democratic Youth Federation of India, said the party.

The would meet on March 20 and the party would form committees next week, Balakrishnan told reporters.

general secretary P K Kunhalikutty is the Congress-led opposition's candidate while the has fielded N Sreeprakash in Malappuram.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of IUML leader and former union minister E Ahmed.

Seventy eight-year-old Ahmed, who passed away on February 1 following cardiac arrest, had won the seat with a margin of over 1.90 lakh votes against his nearest rival in the 2014 polls.

Kunhalikutty is now the member of the assembly from Vengara and Sreeprakash is the district vice-president of the

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 18 2017. 18:22 IST