You are here: Home » PTI Stories » Sports » News
Business Standard

Sureka elected president of Bengal Chess Association

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

In the special general body meeting of West Bengal Chess Ad-Hoc Committee, which convened at the Calcutta Club yesterday, all the office bearers were elected unanimously, BCA stated in a release.

The special general body meeting was held under the observation of secretary of All India Chess Federation Bharat Singh Chouhan and Vice President of FIDE D V Sundar.

The West Bengal state chess body was running in an autocratic manner defying the Calcutta High Court's order, given on July 6, 1993 to conduct election within two weeks, the release added.

The long-held election was conducted yesterday for selecting the governing body of the state chess under the election officer GM Dibyendu Barua, Vice President of AICF.

The last election in the state body was held on September 30, 1989.

The Office Bearers: Sanjoy Sureka (President), Atin Sengupta, Srenik Sett, Soumen Majumdar and Kushal Chowdhury (all Vice Presidents), Atanu Lahiri (General Sec), Kamalesh Sengupta, Asit baran Chowdhury, Partha Das, Goutam De and Subrata Sarkar (all Joint Secretaries), Debashis Barua (Treasurer) and one representative each from 16 districts.


First Published: Mon, December 10 2012. 21:45 IST