You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Tainted LDA VC among 44 IAS officers transferred in UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The today shunted out tainted Vice Chairman of Development Authority (LDA) Satyendra Singh while effecting a major bureaucratic reshuffle involving 44 IAS officers in the second such drill in less than a week. Singh, who is mired in controversy over alleged corruption in LDA, has been put on wait list by the which completed one month in office today. While 41 IAS officers were shifted during the day, a late night order said three more IAS officers were moved out.

They included two special secretaries and a district magistrate. In its first major bureaucratic reshuffle on April 12, the state had transferred 20 senior IAS officers shunting out Principal Secretary (Information) Navneet Sehgal and others who wielded considerable influence under the dispensation. Sehgal was stripped of all key charge and replaced by UP cadre IAS officer Avanish Kumar Awasthi, who was relieved by the Centre on Aditaynath's request after he took over the reins of the state on March 19. Among those transferred today are a number of divisional commissioners and district magistrates. Resident Commissioner of UP, Prabhat Kumar has been made Divisonal Commissioner Meerut with charge of Chairman Greater Nodia, Yamuna Expressway and Yamuna Expressway Industrial Development Authority. Secretary Rural Development and Director Mandi Parishad Ashish Kumar Goel has been made Divisional Commissioner Allahabad replacing Rajan Shukla, who will be Principal Secretary Civil Defence and Political Pension, an official release said. DM Basti, Prabhu Narain Singh has been made new VC of LDA while Director Administration (Medical and Health) Arvind Kumar Singh has been made DM Basti. Rajiv Rautala, who was on wait list, has been made DM Gorakhpur replacing Sandhya Tiwari who will Special Secretary Secondary Education. Secretary, Housing Board, Rudra Pratap Singh has been put on wait list while Commissioner Revenue, Dheeraj Sahu has been made Housing Commissioner. Estate Officer Brijraj Singh Yadav has been made Special Secretary, Rural Development while Special Secretary Irrigation, Yogesh Kumar Shukla has been made Secretary and Estate Officer, the release added.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 18 2017. 22:02 IST