You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Three new districts in Bengal by April

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

Three new districts of Asansol, Jhargram and Kalimpong will be created in by April next year, Chief Minister announced today.

"Out of five, we have received clearance for three districts from the court," Banerjee told reporters here.

She said government teams would go in the districts to oversee the process.

In Asansol, IAS Malay De would lead the team, while in Jhargram DGP Surajit Kar Purkayastha and Commissioner of Police Rajeev Kumar would go. In Kalimpong Chief secretary Basudeb Banerjee would lead the team, she said.

The new districts will be inaugurated next April.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, November 28 2016. 17:58 IST