You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

TMC announces candidates for LS, Assembly by-polls

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

today announced that Dibyendu Adhikari will be its candidate for the by-from Tamluk while Saikat Panja would contest for Assembly by-poll in Monteswar.

The by-elections will be held on November 19, the Commission anounced today.

TMC secretary-general Partha Chatterjee said that Dibyendu Adhikari, party from Kanthi Dakshin will contest from Tamluk constituency from where his brother Suvendu Ahdikari had won in the 2014 poll.

Suvendu Adhikari had won this year's Assembly from Nandigram and vacated the Tamluk seat. He became a minister in the government.

The by-poll in Monteswar Assembly seat became necessary after the death of sitting TMC Sajal Panja.

Saikat Pnaja, who was nominated by TMC for Monteswar Assembly by-poll, is the son of Sajal Panja.

Chatterjee said that the party would soon announce the name of its candidate for the by-election in Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat.

The by-poll in Cooch Behar seat was necessitated by the death of TMC sitting member Renuka Sinha.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, October 17 2016. 22:48 IST