You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Trivendra Singh Rawat sworn in as Uttarakhand CM

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

leader Trivendra Singh Rawat was today sworn in as Chief Minister.

Governor K K Paul administered the oath of office and secrecy to 56-year-old Rawat, a former pracharak, and nine ministers at a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Modi, chief and other national and state party leaders.

Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik, Pandey, Subodh Uniyal, Yashpal Arya and Prakash Pant have been made Cabinet ministers.

Rekha Arya and Rawat took oath as ministers of state.

The decimated the in the Assembly election, winning 57 of the 70 seats.

Coupled with his administrative and organisational skills and experience, Rawat's loyalty to the party and ideology catapulted him to the top post in the state.

Rawat was appointed the party's national secretary in 2013. He was later made co-incharge of the party's affairs in in 2014. He was BJP in-charge of ahead of the crucial assembly election, a responsibility he discharged well to further strengthen the party leadership's trust in him.

He had wrested the Doiwala seat from with an impressive margin of 24,869 votes to win it for the third time.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 18 2017. 15:48 IST