You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

UP chief electoral officer submits list of MLAs to Governor

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

of T Venkatesh today Governor Ram Naik and submitted the list of newly-elected 403 MLAs and the notification for the formation of the new state Assembly, a statement released by the said.

As per the directions of the EC, once the notification of the formation of new Assembly is issued, the ceases to exist.

"Once the list of newly-elected MLAs is received, the Governor starts the process of formation of the new state government," the statement said.

Earlier, the Governor had (through a letter) commended CEO for peaceful conduct of elections in the state. Naik had also sought the list of top-10 polling centres.

"The Governor in his speeches on different occasions had urged the voters to exercise their voting rights. The polling centre in the state, which registered highest polling percentage would be felicitated in Raj Bhavan," the official statement added.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 14 2017. 21:07 IST