You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Whip was issued only to 122 MLAs staying at resort: OPS to HC

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Deputy O today told the that the AIADMK had issued a for the trust vote sought by K last year only to the 122 who were staying in a resort and not to his erstwhile group.

C S Vaidyanathan made the submission before the first bench of and Justice during the hearing of DMK's petition seeking disqualification of Panneerselvam, then a rebel leader, and 10 other for voting against

Besides DMK, four disqualified loyal to rebel T T V have also moved the court aggrieved over the not acting on their plea filed earlier for action against and others.

The four had earlier filed the petition before the before he disqualified 18 pro-MLAs, including them.

Vaidyanathan was countering the submission by DMKs yesterday that and AIADMK had committed contempt of court by saying no was issued during the vote of confidence while an affidavit contrary to this had been filed before the by the then rebel group.

We are not denying the fact that there was a But the was issued to the 122 who were in Koovathur. We were not in Koovathur and directions were not issued to 11 of us by the party whip, he argued.

At the height of the rebellion by Panneerselvam, the AIADMK had kept its 122 at the resort near here and they were brought to the Assembly on February 18 for the trust vote which was eventually won by by a margin of 122-11.

The DMK yesterday furnished a copy of the affidavit filed by group during the pendency of the dispute between two factions of the party.

The groups led by and later merged and the EC allotted the party symbol to them, ignoring the claim of the faction led by

Vaidyanathan claimed the petitions were not maintainable either on facts or on law since the was yet to take a decision on the plea made by then

"In such circumstances, the relief sought for in the petition is not maintainable," he argued.

Also, was elected as the of the at a meeting held on February 14, 2017 in a resort at Koovathur. and the 10 other were not present in the meeting, he submitted.

sought to form the government with the support of 122 only. In fact even while a was allegedly issued to each MLA independently, there was no direction or that was received by the 11 MLAs, he said.

Countering the arguments, P S Raman, appearing for the disqualified four MLAs, said the present submission by was "a clear after thought" as the affidavit filed before the was brought to light.

"In the counter affidavit to DMKs petition, they claimed that they have not deified But now they claim that the was issued only to 122 of AIADMK and not to them. The present submission is a clear after thought, after the affidavit filed with the ECI was brought to light," he argued.

Besides, when a was facing a floor test, it becomes mandatory for the party to vote in favour of his confidence motion. A under party seal was not required in such circumstance, he added.

Recording the submissions, the bench adjourned the hearing to February 22.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, February 14 2018. 23:30 IST