You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

EC clears Hubli Dharwad poll result in Karnataka

ANI  |  Bengaluru (Karnataka) [India] 

The (EC) on Tuesday cleared the poll result of Karnataka's Assembly constituency, which was held up due to mismatch of actual votes cast and votes reflected on Electronic Machine (EVM).

Bharatiya Janata Party's Jagadish Shettar has been announced as the winner from the constituency.

"If there is difference between EVM count and paper slip count, paper slip count prevails. Winning margin in Constituency is more than 20,000 and VVPAT slips counted in polling station no 135 A is only 459. Hence Returning declared Jagadish Shettar as the winner," read an official statement.

Shettar, who was Chief Minister from 2012-13, is now the clear winner over candidate

In the elections, the BJP with 104 seats has emerged as the single largest party but has failed to cross the half-way mark of 112 in the 224-member assembly. is at the second spot with 78 seats while the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) is third with 38 seats and both parties have decided to come together to form a coalition government.

Though the polling in the two assembly constituencies has not taken place yet, their results would not have much bearing on the mandate.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, May 16 2018. 02:12 IST