You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Hariprasad elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka

IANS  |  Bangalore 

general secretary B.K. Hariprasad was Thursday elected to the unopposed from

Assembly secretary and returning officer P. Omprakash announced Hariprasad's election after the expiry of the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

The leader from was the only one in the fray. The Janata Dal-Secular and the Bharatiya Janata Party did not field anyone as they have only 40 members each in the 225-seat assembly.

The has 122 members. The remaining are from smaller parties and independents.

Though two independents filed nominations, they were rejected as they were not supported by 10 assembly members as required by law.

The bypoll followed the resignation of Congress member Anil Lad after he got elected to the assembly in May.

First Published: Thu, August 22 2013. 19:54 IST