Poker Sports League: Delhi Panthers crowned champions of inaugural edition

After completing a magnificent run in the playoffs for five days, Delhi Panthers won the final table and took home the prize money of Rs. 1.15 crores. Mumbai Anchors finishes as runner-ups with the prize money of Rs. 1 crore, Kolkata Royals takes Rs. 50 lakhs and Punjab Bluffers takes Rs. 35 lakhs.

Owned by Abhishek Jain of Leela Jewels, Gaurav Goel of Dhampur Sugar, Rishi Kajaria of Kajaria Ceramic, Ruchirans Jaipuria of Jaipuria Group, and the team was mentored by Akash Malik.

The other team players included Vinod Megalmani, Aman Dhamija, Akshay Nasa, Samay Modi, Kunal Bhatia, Prashant Bhutoria, Dhruv Patel and Erik Rise. Delhi Panthers will now share the first prize as well as the honour of being the first team to win India's first Poker Sports League.

Speaking about the League, Pranav Bagai, CEO and Co-Founder, Poker Sports League said, "The journey of the league has been a roller coaster ride and initially many could not believe that the league would materialise in to something as large as other sports leagues in the country. The never seen before structures and massive prize pool kept the adrenaline rush going for the players along with a chance to make some serious money. On closing our first season with a splendid grand finale, we are sure that this is definitely not a one-and-done season and we have plans to come up with season two next year."

The brainchild of Amit Burman (Vice Chairman, Dabur India Ltd), who partnered with Anuj Gupta (Co-Founder Adda52.com), India's largest online Poker website for the league was spearheaded by Pranav Bagai, (Co-Founder and CEO) and Nikita Luther (COO).

Akash Malik, mentor of the winning team said, "Punjab Bluffers, Mumbai Anchors and Pune Sharks were also topping the leaderboard, but thanks to the amazing team and support of the team owners, Delhi Panthers has tasted the victory. Poker community really enjoyed the tournament and witnessed the game become a 'sportified' game in the country.

Day 1 of Poker Sports League ended with amazing events. Pune Sharks was leading the PSL Day 1 leader-board with 216000 points followed by Delhi Panthers with 212400 points and Punjab Bluffers with 189000 points. Day 2 of the tournament saw massive action with Punjab Bluffers leading the leader-board followed by Chennai Bulls in second place and Bengaluru Jokers in third place. Punjab Bluffers continued to lead the league even on Day 3 with 458400 points, closely followed by Mumbai Anchors and Bengaluru Jokers. Day 4 witnessed a tough fight between Alec Torelli of Haryana Hunters & Sam Razavi of Kings Hyderabad in 'Heads Up Holdem' game.