Impasse in RS continues: Govt, Oppn condemn vandalisation of statues

Prime Minister Narendra Modi condemned the various acts of vandalism and warned of stern action against those found guilty

shyama Prasad Mukherjee bust
Police officers clean the bust of Bharatiya Jana Sangh founder Syama Prasad Mukherjee after it was vandalised in Kolkata on Wednesday | Photo: PTI

Parliament failed to transact any business for the third day, the lawmakers exchanging barbs over statues of different political leaders being vandalised over recent days.  Amid all this, several parties announced their list of candidates to the 58 Rajya Sabha seats slated for election on March 23.  The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) decided to send finance minister Arun Jaitley to the RS from Uttar Pradesh; currently, he is a member from Gujarat. Petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan will now represent Madhya Pradesh; currently, he is a member from ...