After BJP's defeat in 3 states, only 51% Indians now live under its rule

With yesterday's election performance, the Congress now has a government or is part of the government in five states--Punjab, Karnataka, MP, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh

BJP, BJP flag
Photo: Shutterstock

With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) losing power in three Hindi-heartland states--Madhya Pradesh (MP), Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh--the population under BJP rule has dropped by 254 million, from nearly 888 million (71% of India’s population) in 2017 to nearly 634 million (51% of the population) in December 2018.   The BJP now has a government--or is part of the government--in 16 states, up from seven states in May 24, 2014, when the party came to power at the Centre: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, ...