I-Day: 32 CISF personnel awarded medals

Thirty-two CISF officials have been decorated with various categories of police service medals on the eve of the Independence Day.

The awardees of the distinguished service medal include Commandant Satyabir Singh, Deputy Commandant R Paignkannan and Sub-inspector S Raveendran.

Among the meritorious service medal recipients are Senior Commandants Ajay Kumar and Anil Damor and Deputy Commandant Y S Shekhawat among others.

Three personnel including Deputy Inspector General Raj Nath Singh have been awarded the President's distinguished fire service medal, a force spokesperson said.

The fire service medal for meritorious service has been given to three officials including Assistant Commandant Ramesh Singh and Sub Inspector Varadharaj R.

The about 1.66-lakh personnel strong Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) is tasked to guard 61 civil airports of the country apart from guarding vital infrastructure in the nuclear and aerospace domain.

It also provides security to vital business sector undertakings in the private domain.