You are here » Home » Test asian games in india ยป Medal Tally

World Test Championship points table

The World Test Championship points table will be independent of the ICC Test rankings. The Test rankings will continue to have 12 teams on the table.

Each team will play six series, with 120 points available from each series. These points will be evenly allocated across the number of matches in each series. For example, a two-match series will mean 60 points for a win in each Test, while it comes down to 24 points for a five-match series. A tie will see the teams sharing the points while a draw will be in 3:1 ratio.

To explain things further, India were awarded 60 points for winning the first Test against West Indies because the series had two Tests. If the next Test match ends in a tie, both teams will gain 30 points each. In the event of a draw, both teams get 20 points each.

if it's a five-Test series like the Ashes, the team winning the Test will get 24 points, 12 if there is a tie and eight if it's a draw.

What is the league format of the WTC?

Each of the nine teams in the WTC will play six of the eight possible opponents, with three series at home and three series away. The number of matches in each series can vary between a minimum of two matches to a maximum of five matches, with the number of matches played in each series being agreed by the two competing teams before the start of the competition.

Is this a one-off cycle?

No. The plans are to have two-year cycles starting with the first one from 1 August 2019 to 30 April 2021. The second one is scheduled from June 2021 to 30 April 2023.

Are all Test matches part of the WTC?

No. Only the matches identified as part of the WTC will count towards the championship. Any matches featuring the Test teams outside the top nine - Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe - will not be part of the Test Championship.

What about the ICC Test Team Rankings?

The rankings will continue in the same way after each series. The WTCs points system will be independent of the Test rankings.


Position Teams PCT(%) Points Series Won Won Lost Drawn Penalty Overs
1 India 39 0 0 1 1 1 2
2 England 39 0 0 1 1 1 2
3 West Indies 50 0 0 1 1 0 0
4 Pakistan 50 0 0 1 1 0 0
5 New Zealand 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
6 Sri Lanka 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 Australia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 Bangladesh 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
9 South Africa 0 0 0 0 0 0 0