Business Standard

Bengaluru swearing in and the shifting sands of opposition alliances

While several key Opposition leaders have not been invited, a few others who have, are not attending the oath taking ceremony on Saturday


Archis Mohan New Delhi

Listen to This Article

Nothing better would depict the shifting sands of opposition alliances and unity than the list of leaders who attended the H D Kumaraswamy-led Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress government's oath of office five years back on May 23, 2018, and the invitee list of Siddaramaiah-led Congress council of ministers that will take the oath of office Saturday afternoon.

The highlight of the ceremony five years back was UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee and Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati standing side by side on the makeshift stage in front of Bengaluru's Vidhan Soudha. Notable absentees for Saturday's event are

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 19 2023 | 8:04 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to