You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

India provides $5 mn aid to Myanmar for border development projects

India and Myanmar signed a MoU for border development in May 2012, under, which India is to provide a total of $25 million to Myanmar

Press Trust of India  |  Dhaka 

Bipin Rawat, Indian Army, U Min Aung Hliang, Myanmar
Chief of Army Staff, General Bipin Rawat and the Commander-in-Chief of the Myanmar Defence Services, Sr. General U Min Aung Hliang

India has extended a $5 million aid to as its assistance for development projects on the Indo-border.

India's Ambassador to Myanmar, Vikram Misri handed over a cheque of $5 million to Myanmar's Minister for Border Affairs, Lt General Ye Aung at a ceremony on Monday.

Under the 2012 Border Region Development agreement, Indian government is extending $5 million micro development assistance every year for five years for projects on India-border.

"Friendship Project|Amb @VikramMisri handed over $4.95 Million Ceremonial Cheque to Union Minister for Border Affairs, Lt. General Ye Aung as India's assistance to Myanmar's Border Area Development Project," Misri tweeted.

India and Myanmar signed a Memorandum of Understanding for border development in May 2012, under, which India is to provide a total of $25 million to Myanmar, divided into five tranches of $5 million each.

Under the first year project plan, 21 schools, 17 health centres and eight bridges are being built in Chin State and Naga Self Administered Zone of Myanmar through the Myanmar's Border Affairs ministry, according the information available on the website of the Indian Embassy in Myanmar.

The Myanmar government is in the process of selecting contractors to execute the second year projects under which five road projects each would be completed in Chin and Naga Self-Administered Zone, it said.

Three schools would be also set in Chin state and eight in the Naga Self-Administered Zone, it added.

Myanmar shares around 1600 km border with four Northeastern Indian states?Manipur, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram.

First Published: Tue, November 27 2018. 13:10 IST