You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

PSUs in Odisha may bid for five new coal blocks

Odisha Mining Corp, Odisha Hydro Power Corp may bid through competitive bidding route

Jayajit Dash  |  Bhubaneswar 

State-controlled PSUs like Odisha Mining Corporation (OMC) and Odisha Hydro Power Corporation (OHPC) are likely to bid for five new coal blocks in Talcher coalfields that are to be offered by the Ministry of Coal (MoC) through the competitive bidding route.

"MoC has notified 17 coal blocks for allotment to government companies and five of these blocks are located in the Talcher coalfields. Our state PSU are going to bid for these five coal blocks,” said an official source.

The five new coal blocks in Talcher coalfields notified by the ministry are Kudanali-Laburi, Sarapal-Nuapara, Tentuloi, Chandrabila and Brahmani.

After de-allocation of five coal blocks in Odisha due to inordinate delay in their development, the state government is understood to have geared up for winning new blocks meant for PSUs.

The Coal Ministry had de-allocated five coal blocks-Radhikapur East, Baitarani West, Utkal-D, Mandakini-B and Naini. Of these Utkal-D and Mandakini-B were allocated to OMC while Baitarani West was awarded to OHPC jointly with PSUs of other states.

The de-allocation was effected by the ministry on the basis of recommendations made by the inter-ministerial group (IMG) of the Centre on coal block allocation.

First Published: Tue, January 08 2013. 19:42 IST