You are here: Home » Government Press Release » News
Business Standard

Increasing the strength of Rapid Action Force



Considering the increased demand of various State Governments for Central Forces to assist them in controlling riot and riot-like situations, Government vide order dated 21.9.2016 has approved raising 5 more Rapid Action Force (RAF) Battalions by converting 5 existing General Duty battalions of CRPF.

The existing RAF Battalions are located in Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Delhi.

Since 2013, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Tripura have requested for establishment of RAF in their States. The Key Location Plan of the new five RAF Bns are in the States of Haryana, Karnataka, Bihar, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh. Sanction for manpower for the five new RAF Bns have since been accorded. In respect of Rajasthan, sanction has also been issued for acquisition of 50 acres land at Jaipur (Rajasthan).

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Kiren Rijiju in written reply to a question by Shri Sanjay Seth in the Rajya Sabha today.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, December 20 2017. 12:20 IST