You are here: Home » International » News » Politics
Business Standard

Trump admin punishes countries that refuse to take back deported citizens

President Trump, who campaigned on cracking down on illegal immigration, had promised to punish countries that refused to take back their citizens and signed an executive order in January

Ron Nixon | NYT 

The Trump administration has imposed visa sanctions against four countries that have refused to take back citizens who were convicted of crimes in the United States and ordered deported, officials said on Wednesday. The Department of Homeland Security said it notified the State Department that the governments of Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea and Sierra Leone had denied or unreasonably delayed accepting the return of convicts. American diplomats in the countries were ordered to impose visa restrictions, officials said in a statement, but did not say what types of visas would be ...

This article is no longer available in our repository.

There could be multiple reasons for this.

First Published: Thu, September 14 2017. 10:07 IST