Business Standard

Australian eves eye first T20I series win in 3 years


ANI Mumbai [India]
The Australian women's cricket team are looking forward to seal their first Twenty20 International series win in nearly three years as they will lock horns with England in the finals of the T20I tri-series here at the Brabourne Stadium on Saturday.
Except their eight-wicket defeat to England in the second match, Australia were at their menacing best in their approach and application as they won three out of their four round-robin clashes comfortably.
England, on the other hand, kicked off their campaign with two successive wins, including notching up their highest chase in T20I against India.
However, they failed to capitalize on it and slumped to two heavy defeats heading into the final showdown. England suffered eight-wicket defeats against both Australia and India in their last two matches.
It should be noted that it is only by the virtue of their victories in the opening two matches that the England women's team have made it to the finals of T20I Tri-series.
Meanwhile, India, who also featured in the tournament, was crashed out of contention, as they lost their first three games, two to Australia and one to England.
The two teams are as follows:
Australia: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Naomi Stalenberg, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.
England: Heather Knight (captain), Tamsin Beaumont, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Katie George, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Daniellie Hazell, Amy Jones, Anya Shrubsole, Natlie Sciver, Fran Wilson, Danni Wyatt.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 31 2018 | 12:25 PM IST

Explore News