You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Bihar by-polls: CM Nitish congratulates winners

ANI  |  Patna, (Bihar) [India] 

Chief Minister on Wednesday congratulated the winning candidates of the Rashtriya (RJD) and the in the recently-concluded Araria, Jehanabad and Bhabua by-elections in the state.

"I congratulate Miss Rinki from Bhabua, Mr Yadav from Jehanabad and from for winning the elections," tweeted Kumar.

Both the BJP and Rashtriya (RJD) have won an assembly seat each in the by-polls, the results for which were announced today. While the RJD retained the Jehanabad assembly seat, the BJP was able to hold on to the Bhabua assembly seat.

RJD's won by 61,788 votes against BJP's Pradeep Kumar Singh in Araria, alias Suday Yadav won the Jehanabad assembly seat, while BJP's Rinki won the Bhabua assembly constituency, who was fighting the elections owing to her husband Anand Bhushan Pandey's death.

The RJD's win was predictable as after the 22nd round of counting, the party was leading by 57,791 with 4,46,179 votes, while BJP was trailing with 3,88,388 votes for constituency.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 14 2018. 23:41 IST