You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Centurion Test: India look to bounce back, Proteas eye series win

ANI  |  Centurion [South Africa] 

After slumping to a moral-sapping defeat in the opening Test, will look to bounce back when they take on in the penultimate second Test of the three-match series here at the Park on Saturday.

The Virat Kohli-led side suffered a 72-run defeat in the first match in to go down 0-1 in the ongoing series against

However, the world number one Test side will look to win this match in order to keep their hopes alive of becoming the first side in history to get to ten Test series win in a row with a victory over

Meanwhile, have also never managed to win a Test series on South African soil for the past 25 years. Their best result came during the 2010-11 series, which drew 1-1.

South Africa, on the other hand, are riding high on confidence after their splendid outing in and will aim to wrap the three-match Test series when they head into the second match.

It should be noted that South Africa had enjoyed a winning spree at Centurion like no other venue across this country with 17 wins and just two defeats.

On the eve of the match, South African du Plessis had said that South Africa and India are preparing for 'unknown' Centurion pitch before revealing that they had asked for a pitch with pace and bounce.

Earlier, Newlands groundsman was applauded for producing the seam-friendly wicket in the opening Test, with the highest total in the match being 286 during South Africa's first innings.

The match saw South Africa's taking career-best figures of six for 42 and finishing with overall nine wickets to eventually bag 'man-of-the-match' award.

The two squads are as follows:

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Lokesh Rahul.

South Africa: du Plessis (Captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, (wicket-keeper), AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada. Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, January 13 2018. 12:40 IST