You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Four U-19 players called for SAFF championship camp

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Four under-19 players- Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Suresh Singh Wangjam, and Rahul KP- who represented in the under-17 have been called by for the preparatory camp for the (SAFF) Championship.

The four players, who are part of All Football Federations' (AIFF) developmental team Indian Arrows, will be reporting to the Camp in from July 28 onwards, along with 30 others.

Among the others, 29 are current under-23 players with being the sole (above 23) named in the list of 34 probable players.

The stressed that it is important to see whether the youngsters are up to the challenge or not.

"We are always looking down to the age groups to see if these players can make the step up the ladder. I have always put a great deal of importance on the youth and have stuck to the same philosophy. This camp is no different. Quite a few youngsters have been provided with a chance to prove their worth," Constantine said.

"Heading to a tournament with such a young team is going to be a challenge but that's what we want. We want to find out that who can push the extra bit to achieve the desired result, who can take up the extra responsibility to force himself into the team," he added.

India, who are the defending champions, have been clubbed in Group B along with and They will their first match of the championship against on September 6.

The final match is slated to be held on September 15.

The list of 35 probable players is as follow:

Goalkeepers: Vishal Kaith, Toufik Kabir, Kamaljit Singh,

Defenders: Nishu Kumar, Umesh Perambhara, Davinder Singh, Chinglensana Singh Konsham, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sarthak Golui, Lalruatthara, Subhasish Bose,

Midfielders: Nikhil Poojary, Isaac Vanmalswama, S Nandha Kumar, Udanta Singh, Vinit Rai, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Rohit Kumar, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Arjun Jayaraj, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Ashique Kuruniyan, Vignesh D,

Forwards: Sumit Passi, Daniel Lalhlimpuia, Hitesh Sharma, Alen Deory, Manvir Singh, Zhimomi, Rahul KP.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 16 2018. 16:45 IST