You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

J-K: Nine-phased panchayat polls to commence on Nov 17

ANI  |  Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir) [India] 

(CEO) of and on Sunday announced that Panchayat elections in the state would be held in nine phases, from November 17 to December 11, between 8 am and 2 pm. With the announcement of the Panchayat elections schedule, the Model Code of Conduct is already in place.

Addressing a press conference here, said that polls would take place on November 17, 20, 24, 27 and 29 and on December 1, 4, 8 and 11. The counting of votes would take place on the day of polls.

Voting would be held through the use of ballot paper, the said adding that additional ballot boxes would be provided by neighbouring states. The final electoral rolls would be released by September end.

According to Kabra, there are 4,500 panchayat halqas in the state in 316 blocks and 35,000 panch constituencies, with a total of 600 to 700 voters in most places. Therefore, noted, there would not be a requirement for more than one polling station per constituency. Voters would be facilitated with voter slips which would be in both Urdu and English to guide them.

The also said that migrant Kashmiris could cast their votes through posting ballots. In the elections, general observers, expenditure observers and micro observers would also be appointed and all critical events would be filmed, he added.

Regarding the phasing of districts, the informed that the division would go to polls in nine phases. In the first phase, Bandipora, Baramulla, Budgam, Ganderbal, Kupwara, Srinagar, and would go to polls, while the second phase would be held in Anantnag, Bandipora, Baramulla, Kupwara, Bagdum, and Ladakh.

In the third phase, elections would be in districts of Bandipora, Baramulla, Kupwara, Budgam, Ganderbal, and Kargil, and In the fourth and the fifth phases, all districts except for would go to polls.

In the sixth phase, people would vote in Anantnag, Bandipora, Baramulla, Budgam, Ganderbal, Kupwara, Srinagar, Kulgam, and while the seventh phase would witness voting in Bandipora, Baramulla, Kupwara, Anantnag, Pulwama, Shopian, and

In the eighth and ninth phases, elections would be held in all nine districts, including Bandipora, Baramulla, Anantnag, Budgam, Ganderbal, Kupwara, Kulgam, and

Elections in the division would be held in eight phases.

On Saturday, Kabra announced four-phased in the state. Elections would be held on October 8, 10, 13 and 16. The counting would take place on October 20.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, September 16 2018. 16:25 IST