You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Telangana CM Rao extends support to NDA's Presidential candidate

ANI  |  New Delhi [India 

Chief Minister and Rashtra Samithi chief K. Chandrashekhar Rai has extended his support to the Democratic Alliance's Presidential nominee Ramnath Kovind after speaking to Prime Minister Modi.

"A prominent Dalit face as the Presidential nominee is a good decision and we support it," Rao said.

The NDA, earlier in the day, announced Governor Ramnath Kovind as its candidate for the upcoming Presidential polls.

The announcement was made in a press briefing by president

Shah further said that the saffron party hoped that the Dalit nominee would remain unchallenged as the choice and would be unanimously selected as the President of

Shah also informed that the leaders have talked to president Sonia Gandhi, who told them that they would hold discussions over the Presidential nominee and proceed further.

The parliamentary board of the in to discuss the upcoming Presidential

Prime Minister Modi, Union Ministers Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari and M. Venkaiah Naidu and other senior party leaders deliberated on the names for the top constitutional post.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Naidu had earlier of (CPI) leaders D. Raja and Sudhakar Reddy at the latter's party office over presidential elections.

Naidu also spoke to Janata Dal (United) leader Sharad Yadav and (SP) leaders Ram Gopal Yadav and Naresh Agrawal over phone and patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav and senior (BSP) leader Satish Chandra Mishra in this regard.

The BJP formed a panel for parleys with the Opposition as Sonia constituted a sub-group of the opposition parties for the Presidential to create troubled waters for the ruling Democratic Alliance (NDA) for the country's coveted post.

leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge, JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Lalu Prasad Yadav, CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury, TMC leader Derek O'Brien, Samajwadi Party's Ram Gopal Yadav, BSP's Satish Chandra Mishra, DMK leader R. S. Bharathi and NCP's Praful Patel are part of the sub-group.

The for the next President of is to be held on July 17 as President Pranab Mukherjee will demit the office on July 25.

The of India (ECI) issued the notification in this regard and the process of the nomination has started that will continue till June 28.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 19 2017. 15:22 IST