You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

124 Assam MLAs, 3 Lok Sabha MPs cast votes in Presidential poll

IANS  |  Guwahati 

A total of 124 MLAs and three MPs from on Monday cast their votes in the Presidential in the Central Hall of the state assembly.

The polling began at 10 a.m. and ended by 2 p.m.

Former Chief Minister and Titabar's Congress legislator Tarun Gogoi cast his vote in New Delhi, followed by party colleague Kamal Sing Narzary.

MPs of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) -- Badruddin Ajmal, Sirajuddin Ajmal and Radheshyam Biswas -- cast their votes here.

"The polling was over by 2 p.m. The ballot box was sealed and kept in the strong room. The same will be sent to New Delhi tomorrow (Tuesday)," said assembly Principal Secretary Mrigendra Kumar Deka.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance, including Asom Gana Parishad and Bodoland People's Front, supported National Democratic Alliance candidate Ram Nath Kovind while Congress and AIUDF supported opposition candidate Meira Kumar.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 20:52 IST