You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Defending champs Sable, Suriya to lead Indian charge in TSK 25K run

IANS  |  Kolkata 

Defending champion and course record holder will lead the men's category while IAAF gold label L. Suriya, also the reigning champion, will head the women's contingent in the fifth edition of the Kolkata 25K run here on December 16.

Sable is the course record holder with a time of 1:15:17 he clocked last year. For company, he will have Kalidas Hirave, who was the up at the TSK 2017 with a timing of 1:16:18; and Abhishek Pal, dubbed as the rising star of Indian distance running.

Pal, 21, won the Half Marathon this year and completes the troika of favourites among men.

Besides L. Suriya, who clocked a timing of 1:26:53 last year to win the crown, two-time and young Monika Athare, who won the New Marathon 2018, will vie for top honours in the women's section.

Meanwhile, the TSK, for the first time will celebrate -- which marks the military victory over in 1971 during the war for the independence of from -- by organising a Trophy with active participation of the

The special category will be contested between the Indian Army, and the with five/six teams from each of the three services. Each team will have three members running the 25K and the aggregate of their individual timings will determine the winner.

The top three teams stand to win Rs 60,000, Rs. 42,000 and Rs 30,000 respectively.

The TSK has this time raised Rs 37 lakhs for charity.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 19:54 IST