You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Dilip Das to be new Tripura Speaker

IANS  |  Agartala 

Dilip Das will be the of the new Chandra Bhowmik will be his deputy, said here on Friday.

Das and Bhowmik as nominees were elected to the state assembly for the first time from Barjala (in western Tripura) and Belonia (in southern Tripura) assembly constituencies, respectively.

A of the state said would constitute the 12th assembly before the new members took oath.

Das and Bhowmik will replace CPI-M's Ramendra and Pabitra Kar, respectively.

In the outgoing House, the Communist Party of (CPI-M)-led Left Front had 51 members while the BJP had six (who resigned from the in 2016 and joined the BJP last year via Trinamool Congress) and the Congress, once main opposition party in Tripura, had just two.

One seat of the outgoing house was vacant after then was expelled under the

Nath joined the BJP and in the February 18 polls was re-elected to the House from Mohanpur assembly constituency and on Friday became a

In the assembly polls, the BJP secured 35 seats in the 60-member Assembly and the IPFT, a tribal-based party, bagged eight.

The CPI-M got 16 seats while the Left Front partners -- Communist Party of India, and Revolutionary -- besides the drew a blank.

In the Charilam assembly constituency (reserved for tribals) election could not be held on February 18 after the death of the CPI-M candidate and would now be held on Monday.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 09 2018. 21:14 IST