You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

IPL 2018: Winless Mumbai, Delhi aim to get act together (Preview)

IANS  |  Mumbai 

Holders Indians (MI) and (DD), both winless so far, will be eager to crack a win and register their first points when they clash in an (IPL) tie at the here on Saturday.

Hosts lost to Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Sunrisers by identical one-wicket margins in close encounters while finished second best to Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals in their first two outings.

Rohit has so far failed to lead from the front for while the likes of West Indians Elvin Lewis, and have also not fired.

Another worry for Mumbai, who have not batted well in the first two matches, is the to all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

In his absence, big brother could be pushed up the order as Hardik did not play in the game against Sunrisers.

is the only batsman to be among runs and his role will be a key element for the team, especially if it loses early wickets. In both the games MI lacked big partnerships.

Among the bowlers, leg-spinner has initially taken the IPL by storm and has been brilliant in the two games.

His seven wickets, including the four scalps that he captured in a low-scoring tie against Sunrisers, earned him the purple cap.

Markande, however, has lacked adequate support from the other bowlers -- pacers Mustafizur Rehman, Jasprit Bumrah, Pradeep Sangwan and Krunal.

Mustafizur and Bumrah are some of the best death bowlers in the world, but they went for runs and would be keen to do better tomorrow.

Coming to visitors Delhi, have also fired blanks. The hopes from local boy Shreyas Iyer, apart from Gambhir, Rishabh Pant, Australian Glenn Maxwell, Englishman and Kiwi are much but the fireworks have been missing.

The Delhi bowlers have also been below par and need to get their act together to register a win.

The role of spinners, especially leggie Amit Mishra, will be crucial.


MI: (captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh,

DD: Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, (captain), Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh,



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, April 13 2018. 17:32 IST