You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Jagat-Chetan to compete in RFC Global Series Final

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Veteran rallyist Jagat Nanjappa and co-driver Chetan Changappa are all set to compete at the 21st edition of the Rainforest Challenge Global Series Final offroad motorsport event, to be held in from November 24 to December 5.

Jagat and Chetan sealed their entry into the RFC Global Series Final this year due to an exceptional performance at Force Gurkha RFC India 2017, wherein they claimed the overall second position.

The RFC 2017 Grand Final is the culmination of the Global RFC Series, which has 25 editions worldwide in countries like India, Australia, Russia, China, Vietnam, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Korea, Myanmar, Ukraine, Balkans, South Europe and North Europe among others.

In India, the event was launched in 2014 by Delhi-based Cougar Motorsport Pvt. Ltd. and despite being only four editions old, has gained enormous acclaim across the international off-roading fraternity.

When asked about his plans for the forthcoming event, Jagat said: "I went to watch the RFC event in 2011 and was amazed by the level of vehicular modifications and equipment at play. After 37 years of racing in India, this is my maiden opportunity to go abroad and compete. I want to put every bit of effort in it and win it for my country.

"To prepare for the challenges ahead, Chetan and I have adopted a tougher fitness regime, as the competition is going to last for 10 days which is a bit longer than its Indian version. We plan to land there and acclimatize ourselves with the climate & the vehicle a few days prior to the flag-off."

Speaking of his vehicle, 59-year-old Jagat explained: "I'll be driving a rented modified Jeep, turbo charged with a 2L petrol engine. We are using a mechanical winch, which happens to be faster than the electrical ones. I'm satisfied with the vehicle and I'm hopeful that it'll perform well."

This edition of RFC Global Series Final will start in Kuala Lumpur and subsequently travel to Pahang, the biggest state in the Malaysian peninsula and a tropical paradise for & adventure based tourism.

The event will have 24 Special Stages (SS) that will be divided into four progressively difficult competitive legs -- the Prologue, the Predator, the Terminator and the Twilight Zone.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 15 2017. 17:22 IST