You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Kamran, Shehzad back in West Indies-bound Pakistan squad

IANS  |  Lahore 

The Inzamam ul Haq-led selection committee on Wednesday recalled veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal and opener Ahmed Shehzad for the upcoming three One-day Internationals (ODI) and two Twenty20 Internationals during their tour of the later this month.

Azhar Ali, who had been captain of the 50-over side as recently as January, has been dropped while fast bowler Mohammad Amir has been rested for the T20 format.

The 35-year-old Akmal, who last played for the national side during the 2014 World T20, made his way back into national reckoning on the back of some spectacular performances in the domestic circuit, including the recently-concluded second edition of Super League (PSL), where he finished as the leading run-scorer with 353 runs.

Shehzad, who was dropped from the national side post the 2016 World T20 due to disciplinary issues was rewarded for his brilliant domestic performance. The 25-year-old is likely to get a direct spot in the playing XI since the Cricket Board (PCB) suspended opener Sharjeel Khan for his involvement in alleged corruption in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

The selectors have also rewarded five uncapped players for their excellence in domestic cricket. Among them left-handed batsman Fakhar Zaman and leg-spinner Shadab Khan have been picked for both the squads.

The ODI squad included three more uncapped players in domestic veteran Asif Zakir, left-arm spinner Mohammad Asghar and all-rounder Fahim Ashraf. For the T20Is, Pakistan have picked left-arm quicks Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Usman Khan, Rumman Raees along with Hasan Ali.

Pakistan squads for tour:

T20Is: Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain, WK), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Rumman Raees, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan.

ODIs: Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain, WK), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asghar.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 15 2017. 18:18 IST