You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Nepali PM expands Cabinet, 3 more ministers sworn in

IANS  |  Kathmandu 

Nepal's Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Monday expanded his Cabinet for the fifth time inducting three ministers from the Rashtriya Prajatantra Party (Prajatantrik).

With the expansion, the size of the Deuba-led Cabinet has reached 53, making it the biggest in the country's history, the Kathmandu Post reported.

Dipak Bohora took oath as Minister for Science and Technology, Bikram Panday as Forests Minister and Sunil Bahadur Thapa as Industry Minister at a special ceremony at the President's Office in the capital.

Resham Lama was appointed Minister of State for Industry.

RPP (Prajatantrik) had finalised names of three ministers and one state minister to be inducted in the Deuba cabinet on Sunday.

The party's Chairman Pashupati Shumshere Jung Bahadur Rana said they decided to join the government with an objective of concluding the third phase of local level elections in province 2 as well as federal and provincial elections.

RPP (Prajatantrik) has 18 lawmakers in Parliament.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, September 11 2017. 16:34 IST