You are here: Home » News-IANS » Health-Medicine
Business Standard

Two doctors get Padma Bhushan, 16 Padma Shri

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Two members of the medical fraternity were Sunday named for the Padma Bhushan, while 16 were selected for the Padma Shri.

Among the awardees is Ambrish Mithal, who is presently the chairman and head of the endocrinology and diabetes division at Medanta, the Medicity, where he has established one of India's premier diabetes and endocrinology centres.

The other awardee Ashok Seth is one of the most recognised and respected Indian cardiologists across the globe and has contributed significantly to the growth, development and scientific progress of interventional cardiology in the Asia Pacific region.

Over the past 25 years, he has performed more than 50,000 angiograms and 20,000 angioplasties.

The 16 Padma Shri awardees include noted internal medicine specialist Randeep Guleria of AIIMS.

The other awardees are Manjula Anagani, Yogesh Kumar Chawla, Jayakumari Chikkala, Sarungbam Bimola Kumari Devi, K.P. Haridas, Rajesh Kotecha, Alka Kriplani, Harsh Kumar, Tejas Patel and Hargovind Laxmishanker Trivedi.

The list also had three non-resident Indians -- Dattatreyudu Nori, Raghu Rama Pillarisetti and Saumitra Rawat.

First Published: Sun, January 25 2015. 23:38 IST