You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

3 out 7 rebel JD(S) MLAs win on Cong ticket

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Three out of seven rebel JD(S) MLAs, who had joined the Congress, secured their seats in the 2018 assembly poll with a comfortable margin, according to the data.

The rebel MLAs had resigned from legislative assembly on March 24, a day after they cross-voted in favour of the candidates in the Rajya Sabha biennial election in the state.

Of these MLAs who contested on ticket, three retained their seats, while four suffered defeat, the data showed.

R Akhanda Srinivasmurthy emerged victorious from Pulakeshinagar in district, defeating JD(S) candidate B Prasannakumar by 81,626 votes.

Similarly, Zameer won from Chamrajpet in urban district. He defeated BJP's M Lakshminaraya by 33,137 votes.

Also, Bheema Naik retained his Hagaribommanhalli seat in district by defeating BJP's K Nemiraja Naik by 7,232 votes.

However, H C Balakrishna lost his Magadi seat in district to JD(S) candidate A Manjunath by 51,425 votes, while N Chaluvarayaswamy failed to secure his Nagamangala seat in district and was defeated by Congress' by 47,667 votes.

A B Ramesha Bandisiddegowda too could not retain Srirangapattana seat in district, where JD (S) candidate won by 43,688 votes.

Similarly, lost his Gangawati seat in Koppal district to BJP's P Eshwarappa Munavalli by 7,973 votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 15 2018. 20:15 IST