You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

39th Junior National Badminton championship begins today

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

Reigning junior national champion Rituparna Das of Telengana and Roshni Rani of won their opening matches at the 39th National Junior Badminton Championship which began here today.

Das defeated Anshunita Srivastava (Bihar) by 21-8,21-3. Roshni Rani of beat N Mansotra of 21-19, 21-17 in under-19 age group in girls championship here at the Patliputra Sports Complex.

In Boys U-19 category Nitesh Kumar of defeated M Inson of 21-17, 21-18 and moved into the 2nd round.

About 550 shuttlers from 33 states in both Boys and Girls catogeries are participating in 5-day championship.

Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi inaugurated the championship. Sports is such an art from where you can learn discipline, honesty and sincerity Manjhi said in his inaugural speech.

Art, Culture and Sports minister Binay Bihari and Chairman of the Organising Committee and former minister Abdul Bari Siddiqui were present during the inauguration of the championship.

First Published: Sat, December 20 2014. 20:35 IST