You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

7 new ministers to take oath tomorrow in Assam

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

The two-year-old Sarbanada government in will be expanded for the first time with the induction of seven new ministers tomorrow, officials said here today.

Of the seven, five will be from the BJP and one each from alliance partners (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF), the officials said.

"The Cabinet expansion was long overdue. We hope to improve our governance with the induction of the new faces," told reporters.

The Sarbananda ministry was sworn in on May 24, 2016 with 11 ministers -- the chief minister, eight Cabinet ministers and two ministers of state with independent charge - taking oath.

can have 19 ministers, including the So, even after the induction of seven new ministers tomorrow, one more position will remain vacant, the officials said.

The new ministers will be Siddhartha Bhattacharyya, Bhabesh Kalita, Sum Ronghang, Tapan Gogoi and Pijush Hazarika of the BJP, Phani Bhushan Choudhury of the AGP and Chandan Brahma of the BPF, they said.

Of the seven, the MLAs of the AGP and the BPF had previous experience as ministers in the previous governments in the state.

The seven will be sworn-in as ministers at the Raj Bhavan tomorrow.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 25 2018. 23:40 IST