You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

AAP fields retd Maj Gen Suresh Khajuria for Gurdaspur bypoll

Press Trust of India  |  Chandigarh 

The (AAP) today announced retired Major General Suresh Khajuria as its candidate from the Gurdaspur seat where a bypoll is scheduled next month.

The bypoll was necessitated by the death of actor and leader Vinod Khanna, who was the sitting MP.

The decision to field 64-year-old Khajuria was taken after consultations with the Gurdaspur unit of the party and the Majha region leaders and volunteers, leader Sukhpal Khaira said in

Khaira, who is the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, said that Khajuria is an old party volunteer and is a local resident of Pathankot which falls within the Gurdaspur seat.

Khajuria hails from Bungal village in Pathankot. He has served two tenures as Brigade and Division Commander in during his 37 years of service.

Khaira, who was flanked by Khajuria and state unit chief Bhagwant Mann, said that while the and the were planning to bring in "parachute" candidates, his party has fielded a local candidate with a clean image.

He lashed out at Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh alleging failure to deliver on promises made during the assembly polls.

Khaira claimed that the situation has not improved under the present regime as farmers were still committing suicides.

The Gurdaspur bypoll has been scheduled for October 11 and results will be declared on October 15. The Gurdaspur seat has been a stronghold of the so far. Actor- turned-politician Khanna, who passed away in April this year, won the seat four times.

After joining the BJP in 1997, Khanna was fielded from the Gurdaspur parliamentary seat in 1998. He defeated candidate and five-time MP Sukhbans Kaur Bhinder and repeated his performance in the 1999 and 2004 polls.

The actor-turned-politician tasted defeat in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections when he was trounced by candidate Partap Singh Bajwa. In 2014, however, Khanna avenged his defeat by trouncing Bajwa by over 1.30 lakh votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, September 17 2017. 16:13 IST