You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

AIIMS, Sir Ganga Ram doctors get Dr B C Roy award

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Eight doctors including its Director Randeep Guleria from the AIIMS, and two from the Sir Ganga Ram Hospital were today awarded the prestigious Dr B C Roy Award for excellence in the field of medicine.

They received the honour from President at a function held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan here. The awards were announced last October.

Eight senior AIIMS faculty members were conferred the coveted honour, the All Institute of Medical Sciences said.

"AIIMS Director and Head of Pulmonology Dr Randeep Guleria, Head of Orthopaedic Department Dr Rajesh Malhotra, Professor in Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Dr J B Sharma and Professor in Orthopaedic Department Dr C S Yadav are among the awardees," a senior official of AIIMS said.

Guleria was recently appointed the head of the institute.

"Head of Urology Department Dr P N Dogra, Professor in Urology Department Dr Amlesh Seth, Professor in Cardiology Department Dr Rakesh Yadav and Professor in Department of Nuclear Medicine Dr today also received the award," he said.

From the Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, Chairman (Board of Management) & Department of Nephrology Dr D S Rana and Chairman of Department of Chest & Thoracic Surgery Dr Arvind Kumar received the honour.

"This award is dedicated to my teachers and gurus... My message to all upcoming medical professionals is that hard work, sincerity and dedication will always make you succeed," Rana said.

"Dr Rana was chosen in the category of 'recognising the best talents in encouraging the development of specialities in different branches in medicine' and Dr Kumar for the 'Eminent Medical Person' category," a senior official of SGRH said.

The Bidhan Chandra Roy Award was instituted in 1976 in the memory of renowned physician and freedom fighter B C Roy by Medical Council of

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 28 2017. 19:28 IST